India's Most Proven Consultant
Call Us +91 8142826826

Diversity Immigrant Visa 2018

Diversity Immigrant Visa 2018

Diversity Immigrants, under the section 203(c) of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) in USA, there is a class of immigrants from certain countries which have a low rate of immigration to the US and are called “diversity immigrant”, and on September 16, 2016, the US Department of State (DOS), has issued a notice in the Federal Register on the 2018 Diversity Immigrant Visa Program or DV-2018 that for fiscal year 2018, 50,000 visas will be available. To register in to a DV program there is no cost involved.

The applicants are selected via a lottery system and those who ae selected are required to meet the eligibility criteria so as to qualify for a diversity visa. The DVs are given to the six countries and no country can receive more than seven percent of the DVs in a year. The residents of few countries are not eligible to apply for Diversity Immigrant Visa because more than 50,000 immigrants migrated to the USA in the previous five years. The list of countries that are not eligible for DV-2018 are as follows: 

Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, South Korea, UK, and Vietnam.

The eligible countries are Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR, and Taiwan. The online registration for DV-2018 will start from October 4th, 2016 and would end on November 4th, 2016. The notice also contains the information and FAQs related to DV process and eligibility criteria for the candidates.

 For further details, contact Global Tree services.

Subscribe to our Newsletter